A Dream Of Death (W B Yeats)

A Dream Of Death (W B Yeats)

i10-47-dream.jpg

I DREAMED that one had died in a strange place

Near no accustomed hand,

And they had nailed the boards above her face,

The peasants of that land,

Wondering to lay her in that solitude,

And raised above her mound

A cross they had made out of two bits of wood,

And planted cypress round;

And left her to the indifferent stars above

Until I carved these words:

She was more beautiful than thy first love,

But now lies under boards.

 

 

Πολλοί θα το διαβάσουν μα λίγοι θα το καταλάβουν

Και εσύ είσαι μία από τους λίγους

Ίσως και η μοναδική…

Παράφωνος

 

  1. HAD I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
    Enwrought with golden and silver light,
    The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
    Of night and light and the half-light,
    I would spread the cloths under your feet:
    But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
    I have spread my dreams under your feet;
    Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

  2. Clothes of Heaven… και πάλι Yeats … Καλημέρα

  3. I’m nobody! Who are you?
    Are you nobody, too?
    Then there’s a pair of us — don’t tell!
    They’d banish us, you know.

    How dreary to be somebody!
    How public, like a frog
    To tell your name the livelong day
    To an admiring bog!

    Emily Dickinson




Σχολιάστε

